Sew Chef

Cooking & sewing are what I love to do, here's where I'll write about them!

Lá Lôt Resturant + Bar – Review

I’m always on the lookout for new & old places to try! I’m reminded of Lá Lôt Resturant + Bar (LLRB) almost everyday when I drive by their street sign placed at the street corner 2 blocks from their location. Each time I tell myself I need to check it out! Well, finally I did after about 6 months of their opening. The other afternoon as I was walking/strolling my little one for a nap, I remembered to stop by there. Since I wasn’t too hungry at around 3pm, I decided to order (togo) just a small dish to taste the favors of the chef. I went with the Betel Leaf Beef – Bò Nướng Lá Lốt (Betel leaves wrapped tenderdoin, scallion and jicama, with grilled pineapple anchovy sauce). I figured if the place was named after the Betel leaves, then they should be masters of this dish! After slowly enjoying & finishing the dish I felt that they did a pretty good job with it! The taste was very authentic and ingredients were mostly there (I didn’t see or taste the scallions in the individual rolls, but they did have plenty of it on top & around the rolls-different from what I’ve seen before). The anchovy sauce had the right flavors and was surprisingly good! My only complaint would be that the beef could have been a bit thicker (didn’t taste it enough when eating), and that the rolls weren’t as nicely rolled (the batel leaves were loose and didn’t look neat). Ringing in at $9.31 (tax included), it was a bit over priced for a starter dish. At most vietnamese restaurants you could get an entree. I would give this place a 3/5 stars for now until I return and try one of their entrees.

20120915-221617.jpg

20120915-221651.jpg
La Lot on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 15, 2012 by in Review, Vietnamese.