Sew Chef

Cooking & sewing are what I love to do, here's where I'll write about them!

Vietnamese Grilled Pork Vermicelli Noodle (Bún Thịt Nướng)

The birds are chirping and it’s getting warmer and sunnier outside, Spring time! I’ve been craving a Spring time Vietnamese dish – Vietnamese Grilled Pork Vermicelli Noodle (Bún Thịt Nướng). It’s like a salad with grilled pork on top of rice noodles. Very refreshing and tasty!
What you’ll need for the grilled pork:
Pork shoulder/butt (I used about 1lb.)
Garlic, shallots, salt, black pepper, soy sauce, & fish sauce. Slice pork into small pieces about 2-3 inches in size & quarter inch thick (don’t slice too thin cause it will dry the meat when it’s grilled).

20130318-232752.jpg
Add all of above ingredients, mix well, cover, and let marinate. I left it to marinate in fridge till next day. But it could be ready to grill in about 1-2 hours.

20130318-233037.jpg
Before starting to prepare the pork for grilling, I put a pot of water to boil and added the rice vermicelli noodle to cook.

20130318-233710.jpg
Weave pork slices onto skewers for grilling.

20130318-233358.jpg
Place pork skewers on grill at low/med heat so it doesn’t burn the meat and will cook thoroughly. Check & turn them as they grill to get even grilling on both sides.

20130318-234050.jpg

20130318-234111.jpg
While the pork is grilling, prepare your veggies: lettuce, cilantro, bean sprout, cucumber, and any other you prefer. I actually forgot to add the pickled carrot & daikon I had made the other day! I also made some scallion warmed in some olive oil and crushed peanuts to top off the dish.

20130318-234558.jpg
Serve with some Vietnamese prepared fish sauce (nước mắm/nước chấm).

3 comments on “Vietnamese Grilled Pork Vermicelli Noodle (Bún Thịt Nướng)

  1. Irene Liu
    March 19, 2013

    This is one of my favorite dishes! Thank you for the instructions and mouth-watering photos!

    • sewchef
      March 19, 2013

      It’s one my faves too! I’m usually not good with cooking instructions, but am trying very hard to add them in my blog! Glad you enjoyed the pics!

  2. Ashley
    November 6, 2013

    I don’t cook but I can’t wait to try this! Pics look scrumptious and instructions sounds really simple to follow. Thanks! :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 18, 2013 by in Food, homemade, Vietnamese.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

